You know it’s Winter when…

Posted on October 30, 2010 by

0



There is no football for 3 months! Yes, 3 whole months with no football in the Czech Republic. It’s going to be a very long winter here, the final league game before the winter break is November 21. So, upon the in-pending football void I need to fill over the coming months I decided to check out the Ice Hockey. The first thing which stood out to me was that Slavia Prague are currently just as bad at Hockey as they are football, I was hoping that they will be sitting near the top of the league so I could claim some glory this season, but no. A season of misery looks set for me, Liverpool, Slavia Prague and now Slavia’s Ice Hockey team.

Now, im complete novice when it comes to Ice Hockey, the only experience I have is playing Blades of Steel on the old Nintendo games console, what a game that was! But I was quite astounded when I checked the Ice Hockey league table and the first column was “Fights”!! Im not sure if my google translate made an error, but it made me chuckle all the same. If there is any Czech Ice Hockey fans out there, please enlighten me! I have 3 weeks before my attention turns to Hockey so I have time to find “An Idiots Guide to Ice Hockey”.

Back to football, and Plzen recorded another win last night beating Teplice 4-2 to extend their points tally to 37 out of a possible 42! A quite staggering record and they are looking unstoppable at the moment, Slavia travel to Pribram today but the big game today is the Bohemians derby with Sparta Prague. Sparta’s away record has been excellent this season and I fully expect them to win the game, Bony Wilfred and Leonard Kweuke should start up front and will be too much to handle for the Bohemian defenders. Sparta will then travel to Switzerland on Thursday for their game with Lausanne Sports, a win here for the Czechs would be massive.

Bony Wilfred is hot property at the moment, and rightly so. He is probably the best striker in the Czech league has recently been called up to the Ivory Coast national team. It has been touted that Swiss side Young Boys Bern were planning to make a move for him in January, but I expect Bony to stay until the summer and move to a German team.It  should be a nice payday for Sparta and by this time Kweuke should be able fill Bony’s boots. Not forgetting, the young Czech star Kadlec.

I have a slight obsession with Bony Wilfred at the moment, as the first time I saw him play he was woeful, really bad. But this season Bony has been smashing them in for fun and looks a good player, I don’t think he will go on to be a top player but im sure he could hold his own in the English Premier League if he keeps developing and improving.

Posted in: Uncategorized