Beware of the Belgians

Posted on September 5, 2010 by

1



After going through some of the line ups of Fridays international games, I stopped and paused when I got to Belgium v Germany. It wasn’t the Germans which I was in awe of, it was the Belgians. The front four of Hazard, Fellaini, Dembele and Lukaku looks very, very tasty and bodes well for the future of Belgian football. Eden Hazard, aged just 19 made a big impact for Lille last year and impressed during their Champions League campaign (I remember the free kick he scored a Lille beat LFC 1-0 in France).

Fellaini has impressed for Everton and as much as I hate to admit it, the guy can play and he is always a handfull for opposing defenders. Moussa Dembele has recently joined Fulham from dutch side AZ Alkmaar and he has really caught in the eye in the 4 games he has played this season. Its the first time I had seen him play and I think Mark Hughes has signed a gem for Fulham.

This brings me on to the jewel in the crown for the Belgians, Romelu Lukaku. The kid is just 17 years old, yet he looks like a man twice that age! Quite simply the guy is an absolute monster, and im not just talking about his phsyique. His goal scoring record is unreal, he pretty much averaged a goal a game before moving to Anderlecht’s youth team where he then weighed in with an impressive 121 goals in 88 games!! He made his debut for the first team aged just 16 years old, he also made appearances in the Europa League for Anderlecht and scored 4 times.

He even managed to finish as the top scorer in the Belgian Pro League in his first season, scoring 15 goals in 25 games – not for a 16 year old kid!! He looks like a Drogba mark II, he is quick, strong, powerful and has an eye for the goal. Its a shame this year Anderlecht failed to make group stages of the Champions League and this would have been a real test for him. I just hope when he does decide to leave Anderlecht he joins Liverpool, somehow I doubt that and I think Chelsea have earmarked him to fill Drogba’s boots.

Posted in: Uncategorized