El Classico on a Monday Night?

Posted on November 30, 2010 by

0



The whole world had been anticipating tonights El Classico for a few weeks now. Barca v Madrid, Messi v Ronaldo, Venables v McManaman and Pep v Jose. The script had been set, Madrid have been unstoppable in recent weeks, brushing aside teams with ease, sitting top of La Liga – one point clear of fierce rivals Barcelona. Mourinho had given Madrid that bit extra, like he does everywhere he goes.

Much was made about moving the game to a Monday night, why? It seemed odd, when I think of Monday Night Football I think of Wigan v Everton on ESPN, but as today approached it gave the game an extra edge. Everyone was waiting for tonights big game, no other games to share the limelight with, just El Classico on your mind, unless your a Droylsden fan?

I could tell something big was happening today, my Twitter feed was full of Barca/Madrid comments, I hadn’t seen this many tweets since Wagner made it through boot camp or Cheryl Cole farted on X-Factor. The time had come, El Classico was here, I was ready with my link to the game and eagerly cheering on Madrid, it took 8 minutes for my link to fail. By the time I googled “Justin TV” Barca were already one nil up, Xavi – 10 minutes gone, gutted. I watched the first half on livescore.com (teletext for the¬†millennium) whilst frantically searching for a link to watch.

I managed to watch the majority of the second half, and Barca were a joy to behold. My bad mood had subsided, Messi’s through ball to Villa to make it 4-0 was immense. The ease at which Barca pass the ball is second to none, Madrid were made to look like a sunday league team, how often can you say that about a Mourinho side? Mardrid were doomed within 10 minutes of El Classico. Messi was ghosting past players and cutting Madrids square defence with ease, where was Ronaldo?

It will be interesting to hear how Mourinho handles this defeat and what noises come out of Madrid. But one thing is for certain, Barca and Messi still reign in Spain.

Posted in: Uncategorized