Dumb and Dumber

Posted on May 8, 2011 by

0



This morning I followed my usual Sunday morning routine. Coffee, breakfast, check my emails and login to Twitter. My timeline included a retweet from Gary Neville, who has just joined the social networking site along with brother Phil Neville.

The two bumbling brothers from Manchester are the latest players (ex player in Red Nev’s case) to join Twitter. Recent additions like Michael Owen and Wayne Rooney had encouraged the Neville brothers to join. I debated for a good half an hour before I decided to follow the Neville brothers, most of their tweets so far have been “banter” between each other (sorry, I had to use the B word).

Whilst most of Gary Neville’s tweets have been rather predictable and full of exclamation marks. One tweet to Wayne Rooney did make me chuckle.

It’s only a matter of time before one of these new additions to put their foot in their mouths, after one too many drinks or a bad result, cue PR disaster. I expect Rooney to fold first.

Here is a selection of my favourite footballing related tweets:

Glen Johnson – the Liverpool defender let rip at Paul Merson, following Merson’s analysis of the right-back’s attitude towards former boss Roy Hodgson. Johnson tweeted: “Comments from alcoholic drug abusers are not really gonna upset me and who is Paul Merson to judge players, he was average at the best of times,” and then “The only reason he’s on that show is coz he gambled all his money away. The clown!” The comments were removed after complaints but no official apology was made.

Darren Bent – In 2009, the Spurs striker was looking for a way out of White Hart Lane, as he fell out of favour with Harry Redknapp. Bent said on his twitter page  “Do I wanna go Hull City NO. Do I wanna go Stoke NO do I wanna go sunderland YES so stop f****** around levy.’  Oooops.

And finally, Aldershot Town striker Marvin Morgan gives a lesson in how to alienate yourself with the clubs fans. He said: ‘Like to thank the fans who booed me off the pitch. Where’s that going to get you! I hope you all die.’ Wow! Morgan was fined two weeks wages and transfer listed.

Posted in: Uncategorized